Tags

 

drifting

 

“About this we have much to say, and it is hard to explain, since you have become dull of hearing.” – Hebrews 5:11 (ESV)

“Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.” – Hebrews 2:1 (ESV)

“And through your faith, God is protecting you by his power until you receive this salvation, which is ready to be revealed on the last day for all to see.” (1 Peter 1:5 NLT)

When I become dull of hearing, I know that I’m in a spiritually dry place, and that makes me vulnerable to the devil’s attacks. Drifting away is something we generally do over a long  period of time. It’s starts when we begin to miss our times of prayer and Bible study, and neglect our spiritual condition.  I’ve drifted away and fallen into disobedience during different seasons of my life.  But God has been incredibly merciful to me, he’s always disciplined me as a son, and brought me back into a place of communion with him.

I do not believe that we can reach a point after regeneration that we lose our salvation. You don’t lose your salvation like you lose a coin. Some of my favorite Bible scholars believe that it is possible for real believers to commit apostasy,  which is a willful turning away from the faith, and rejecting the Lordship of Christ. The book of Hebrews contains serious warning’s against those that have been “enlightened” and then “fall away”(Read Hebrews 6.) And according to their view, that act of apostasy would result in being eternally lost. This view deserves our consideration. But that is not my focus here.

That lack of confidence in our Father’s keeping power, devalues and undermines the work of the cross.

I believe many have tasted the things of God and experienced them to some extent, but never actually receive the Spirit of Christ as Lord into their hearts. It is wise to “make our calling and election sure” (2 Peter 1:10.) We must all ask this question: Do we treasure Christ above all else? Maybe we have in the past, but now find ourselves becoming dull in our experience with God. If this is where you are presently at, heed the exhortation of the writer of Hebrews and do not harden your hearts.

As it is said,

“Today, if you hear his voice,

do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.” – Hebrews 3:15 (ESV)

