Tags

,

15032716_706176446214730_1652397618203504899_n

 

“I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.”  (Psalm 16:8 ESV)

“Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” (Matthew  28:20 NLT)

The inner life of a disciple is formed by the Word of God through the power and presence of the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit brings life and transformation as we think deeply on biblical truths. This transformation of our inner person is the outcome of gazing at the beauty of Jesus, as revealed in the Gospel. King David was careful to use his sanctified imagination to “set the Lord always before him.” The Holman  Christian Standard Bible says, “I keep the LORD in mind always. Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” 

Meditating and contemplating on the truth of God brings stability to our lives. Transformed thinking leads to a profound sense of joy and peace even in times of uncertainty. As New Testament believers we have the Spirit abiding in us at all times.

“Now without faith it is impossible to please him, for the one who approaches God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.” (Hebrews 11:6 NET) 

We should come to God believing that he is with us, and will reward our effort to be with him, with the gift of his presence. Even when the Spirit is not felt, we have the assurance that Christ by his Spirit is always with us. The Holy Spirit leads, guides, and directs us into the path of life, and our minds are renewed by God’s word. The path of life is the path of discipleship. The goal of our lives is to be conformed into the image of Jesus.

 

