main

“Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few. (Matthew 7:13-14, ESV)

“The Jews then disputed among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him. As the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so whoever feeds on me, he also will live because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like the bread the fathers ate, and died. Whoever feeds on this bread will live forever.” (John 6:52-58, ESV)

When Jesus says, “Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood” it’s clear that he is using metaphoric language. He uses this language to call for total commitment. Jesus did not come to the earth and die to make us successful and to leave us in our sins. He was resurrected from the dead for us so that we could live a resurrected life, now, abiding in his presence. This brief moment we call life is merely preparation for eternity with God. Jesus is not a part time savior, he requires total commitment to himself and his Kingdom. In John chapter 6 we see the narrow path of discipleship that Jesus teaches his students. And at that point many walk away from the Teacher.

This path to God is only through his unique and only Son, Jesus. Radical commitment to the Son of God isn’t a life of sinless perfection, but it will lead to that on the day we see him and are glorified in his presence, in Heaven. But as we journey on the narrow road with Him we are being changed from one degree of glory to another. All of us on this journey are called to hold on to the things of this world loosely and to focus on God’s kingdom agenda.

As we begin to comprehend this call and walk this path, we must not be like those that followed Jesus for material things he could give them. Yes, He gives us what we need, but what we need the most is his character and life transforming presence. It’s a counter- cultural thought but we must consume him if we expect to live eternally with him.

