jesus_and_the_lamb1-e1344629503125

My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me. (Psalm 63:8 ESV)

I had been meditating on Psalm 63:8 for about a week when a friend sent me a encouraging text message with the same verse on it. He did not know the situation I was going through, nor did he know that I had been pondering in my heart about that verse. God has a special way of communicating his love and care to us when we are going through hard times. God knows and understands our frames, and that we are dust. (Ps.103:14)

A clinging soul has learned to be quiet (Ps.62:1-2) and trust God to be their Rock. Jesus is the author and finisher of our faith and the only sure foundation we can build our lives on. A clinging soul is being weaned from the world and finds its satisfaction in God.

We must learn to cling to our Heavenly Father like a child clings to his earthly Dad. When our soul clings to God we enter into his rest in a place of total dependence and trust in him. He holds onto us with his strong right hand. Clinging to God is like cleaving to our spouse. When we cling to Him we are declaring our love for him.

