savior-statue636363-29-300x168

 

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. (John 14:6, ESV)

“All religions are not the same. All religions do not point to God.” – Ravi Zacharias

As an imperfect follower of Jesus I make no claims of sinless perfection. I hold no ill will towards those who have a different view of God than what I see in the New Testament. I don’t believe in forcing Christianity on anyone. God has given us free wills to choose the life we want to live. Some of the demands of Jesus seem hard. He calls us to live our lives according to his teachings. And without a personal encounter with Jesus through regeneration (being born again) by the Holy Spirit, it is impossible to live the life he requires of us. I don’t have the right as a disciple of Jesus to except any teachings that contradict the truth that he both embodied and taught. The Bible, which Jesus and his Apostles affirms as the word of God, informs Christians on how to live life to the fullest.

Being led by the Spirit is being supernaturally led away from sin, and God defines what sin is.  God defines human sexuality, marriage, the manner in which we worship Him, and how we should relate to others in general. I love the gift of repentance because I fall short of His glory everyday. Yes, I sin…we all sin. We live in a time where people who confront sinful behavior are called hateful and intolerant. It seems like in the United States the only sin is to describe anything as sinful.

Anyone who has really experienced the grace of God will be kind and compassionate to those who reject the way of Jesus. As Christians we are called to take a stand for biblical truth. So those that demand we give up our “outdated religion” should understand we are not seeking to be insensitive or intolerant. We just desire to be faithful to the God we trust and believe in.

