“But I am afraid that as the serpent deceived Eve by his cunning, your thoughts will be led astray from a sincere and pure devotion to Christ.” – 2 Corinthians 11:3

It seems most of us are suffering with information overload. We as Christians have an incredible amount of books, blogs and podcast to sort through. I rarely ever go into a Christian bookstore or shop on-line unless, I have certain authors in mind. I’m open to learning from new teachers, but it seems best to me, to stick with those that you trust, and who feed you spiritually and understand the Kingdom of God.

Over the years I’ve bought into many of the latest fads, and eventually found myself throwing some of those faddish books in the garbage can! I go through seasons when I can hardly read a book, and prefer to listen to my iPod instead. When I find my senses being overloaded, I know it’s time to be still and focus on communion with God. I begin to work on the spiritual practices of prayer and meditation.

We must never spread ourselves so thin that we don’t have enough time to meditate on and study Scripture. As we seek to simplify our spiritual lives, we will experience greater peace, joy, and intimacy with God. Focusing on the Kingdom of God produces that kind of experiential peace, joy and righteousness.

 

