“So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. All who came before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them. I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” – John 10:7-10 (ESV)

The Door is a person not a place or experience. Jesus is the Door and everyone must go to him to find eternal life. All His sheep come to him and his way is exclusive. Jesus is the portal by which we enter into the Kingdom of God. And faith is the key to open the Door. This is one of the main reasons I reject and I believe the Scriptures reject, the heresy of Universalism, only Jesus’ sheep will be saved.

Others have claimed to be ‘a door’ – they are “thieves and robbers.” Unlike other religions that are based on works, Christians can approach Jesus as our caring Shepherd that receives his sheep on the basis of faith and grace. The “thieves and robbers” are not approachable Shepherd’s, but demanding idols. Rituals, formulas, and fear are used in an attempt to appease these ‘gods.’ Jesus is unique in that he offers security, peace, rest and abundant life to his sheep.

Jesus offers even greater intimacy to those who would open the door of their hearts and let him in. “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.” – Rev. 3:20 (ESV) This verse is often used as a offer of salvation to the lost, but it is best understood as an invitation to intimacy. The key here is hearing His voice – which requires a response to His invitation.

