“I praise you, O Lord;
teach me your decrees. I have recited aloud
all the regulations you have given us.
I have rejoiced in your laws
as much as in riches.
I will study your commandments
and reflect on your ways.
I will delight in your decrees
and not forget your word.” – Psalm 119:12-16 (NLT)

The person who seeks God over material possessions seeks the true Treasure. When we seek God more then gold and earthly treasure, we have a growing desire to know his word and obey his instructions. In Psalm 119, David tells us that those who seek to obey the Lord’s instructions are joyful or blessed people. But if you’ve spent much time praying with the Psalms, you also experience a wide range of human emotions from pain, grief, bitterness, abandonment to peace and joy. Though we experience pain on our journey to the New Jerusalem we have more joy then those that don’t have access to the Holy Spirit. I’m convinced that joy comes not only from obedience but from the presence of the Spirit in our lives. The Word and the Spirit were never meant to be separated.

As part of my ongoing spiritual formation, I’m seeking to pray through the Psalms and allowing the Spirit to change me and give me a heart to obey God’s word. If you have a heart to obey, your study and reflection will produce delight! Whenever I enter into that delight, the world around me begins to fade away and all I want is more of God. I’m presently in a battle – the same one you’re in, with the world, the flesh and the Devil. So when you pray the Psalms, pray them out loud. It will help change the spiritual atmosphere in your home and reinforce the words, in your hearts. It’s not a formula, but it will produce delight, and delight in God is the greatest experience possible – Bobby

