Tags

,

“The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup;
you hold my lot.
The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.

I bless the Lord who gives me counsel;
in the night also my heart instructs me.
I have set the Lord always before me;
because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices;
my flesh also dwells secure.
For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol,
or let your holy one see corruption.

You make known to me the path of life;
in your presence there is fullness of joy;
at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” – Psalm 16:5 – 11

As we choose to focus on the Lord we open ourselves up to His instruction. There is a sense that we can set the Lord before us and experience his presence on a regular basis. This requires inner silence and stillness – it is the way of discipline that we partake and delight in the presence of the Lord. We must be still and know He is God. God’s presence brings a deep and abiding joy.

Divine communication is the result of intimacy. The pleasures of God are to be sought, we were created to experience “pleasures forevermore”. The manifest presence of God is to be valued and honored when we experience it. When the Lord withdraws His presence it is for the purpose of spiritual growth. During dry times we stand on Gods’ word – “the just shall live by faith.” Dry times are for seeking our roots deeper in Scripture. In these times we must learn to “lay ourselves in the way of allurement” as Sam Storms says.

Whether we are experiencing dry times or the manifest presence of God we must put ourselves in a position to hear God’s voice. That’s the purpose of spiritual disciplines. I’ve also found that it is important to pray for dreams. As verse 7 says above, God will instruct you while you sleep. Intimacy with Jesus puts you in a better position to hear from God through the Scriptures, wise council of friends, and through dreams and visions. – Bobby

